13 states with ‘trigger bans’ to end abortion following SCOTUS ruling

by Laura Ramirez

Photo: Alamy

Numerous states have been anxiously awaiting Roe v. Wade’s demise with “trigger bans” prohibiting abortions in at least 13 states following the Supreme Court’s historic decision Friday to overturn the 1973 case.

President Donald Trump’s commitment to elect conservative justices to the nation’s highest court foreshadowed, what many assumed would be, the end of the controversial abortion case Roe v. Wade. In preparation, 13 states implemented “trigger bans” to outlaw abortions as soon as the court struck down nationalized abortion rights.

According to Forbes, abortion bans in Kentucky, Louisiana, and South Dakota went into effect immediately following Friday’s ruling.

South Dakota Gov. Kristi Noem celebrated the news on Twitter, writing, “Today, life wins!”

Abortion laws in Arkansas, Missouri, North Dakota, and Utah will take effect once the state government certifies the ruling and deems the trigger ban to be constitutional, the outlet further reported. Similar steps must happen in Mississippi and Wyoming for its abortion bans to take full effect. For states like Idaho, Tennessee, and Texas, bans will take effect 30 days following the ruling.

Although Oklahoma banned abortions after “fertilization” in May, the state’s trigger law will also go into effect as the attorney general certifies the court’s decision.

Multiple states are set to follow suit and pass various degrees of abortion bans across the country.

You may also like